Android’s new archiving functionality could free up 60% of your storage

Internet 2022-03-13 17:10:17 0 883

Android’s new archiving functionality could free up 60% of your storage-ITdot

Google has announced a new Android feature that enables “app archiving”, potentially freeing up 60% of your device’s storage through removing parts of apps that you’re not using.

Available to developers as part of the upcoming Bundletool 1.10, the new feature allows developers to create a new type of APK called “archived APKs.” As Google explains, these new archived APKs are very small APKs which preserve user data until the app is needed and restored fully.

Arriving to consumers sometime “later this year,” this new APK would allow users to “archive” their apps instead of completely uninstalling them, freeing up space temporarily while offering the utility of quickly and easily re-activating the apps once they’re needed again.

As Google explains in the Android Developers blog post, this feature wouldn’t just be useful for consumers who can’t quite commit to uninstalling an app, or who’re looking to free up some valuable storage space, as the feature will also benefit developers through “fewer uninstalls and substantially lower friction to pick back up with their favourite apps.”

While this feature is undoubtedly intriguing, admittedly giving you back 60% of your device’s storage might be a bit of a longshot, as it would require you to have nothing but apps on your phone. Despite this Android’s archived apps feature could still free up a good deal of space with the apps that you only use occasionally, making it definitely worthwhile to have once this feature launches later this year.

#APK#


Your opinion

Already have 0 Article answer

安卓新存档功能可以释放60%的存储空间

互联网 2022-03-13 17:10:17 0 525

安卓新存档功能可以释放60%的存储空间-一点问答

谷歌宣布一项新的安卓支持“应用程序存档”的功能,通过删除您不使用的应用程序部分,可能会释放60%的设备存储空间。

作为即将发布的Bundletool 1.10的一部分,这一新功能可供开发人员使用,它允许开发人员创建一种称为“归档APK”的新型APK正如谷歌解释的那样,这些新归档的apk非常小,可以保留用户数据,直到应用程序被完全需要和恢复。

这款新的APK将于“今年晚些时候”向消费者推出,它将允许用户“存档”他们的应用程序,而不是完全卸载它们,暂时释放空间,同时提供一旦再次需要时快速轻松地重新激活应用程序的功能。

正如谷歌在Android开发者博客文章中解释的那样,这一功能不仅对那些不太愿意卸载应用程序的消费者有用,或者对那些希望释放一些宝贵存储空间的人有用,因为该功能还将通过“更少的卸载和大幅降低恢复他们最喜欢的应用程序的摩擦”而使开发者受益

虽然这一功能无疑很吸引人,但不可否认的是,让你恢复60%的设备存储空间可能有点遥远,因为这要求你的手机上除了应用程序之外什么都没有。尽管如此,Android的存档应用功能仍然可以为你偶尔使用的应用腾出大量空间,一旦这项功能在今年晚些时候推出,绝对值得拥有。

#APK#


您的见解

已有 0 条答案